User GuidesSnapGene InstallationUnregister a Computer Remotely

Unregister a Computer Remotely

As the account manager, how can I unregister a SnapGene license on a computer that is not physically accessible?

Use this procedure to retrieve a license activation for use on another computer if:

  • A past user cannot be contacted and no longer has permission to use the license
  • A computer has been lost
  • A computer has been stolen
  • A Computer is no longer functional or has been wiped

Please note, a license may only be unregistered a limited number of times during each term of the license.

Go to the Login Page

For this procedure, you must be the account manager for the SnapGene license.

Go to snapgene.com, and click My Account.

Login

Enter the email address and password for an account manager then click Sign In.

The original password was sent in an email immediately after purchase. If you have lost the password, click Forgot Password? to obtain a new password by email.

Display the Active Licenses

On the main page,  all of your licenses will be listed. Click on a license title to view the license details.

Deactivate the License Remotely

Switch to the Activations view.

To deactivate a license, in the "Active Computers" list press the Deactivate button next to the name of the relevant computer.

A warning will appear, if you are sure you wish to deactivate then click OK.

The computer will no longer be listed in the "Active Computers" list, but instead will be listed in the "Blacklisted Computers" list. The released license will be immediately available for use on another computer.

The blacklisted computer will no longer be able to run SnapGene unless reenabled.

Note that it may take up to 24 hours for the blacklisted computer to acknowledge the deactivation and cease working.

Reenable a Blacklisted Computer

To allow the computer owner to use a SnapGene license from your group again, expand and view the "Blacklisted Computers" list, then click the Enable Reactivation button next to the name of the relevant computer. This will move the computer to the "Deactivated Computers" (Not Blacklisted) list. If the computer owner of a "Deactivated" computer registers again with your license details then that computer name will move to the "Active Computers" list.

Log Out

When you are finished, click the "My Account" button the upper right corner and click "Sign Out".